Tags

, , , , , , , ,

jean-paul-gaultier-w352The French fashion designer who made it big in the 1980s and became synonymous with Madonna and her famous cone bra in the 1990s, is back at it and he wants to appeal to a broader audience. “To be honest, this is also the first time we are ready for America in time,” Gaultier told WWD.

He adds, “At the end of the day you have to ask yourself: Why am I doing this? And I say I want to touch more people with my clothes. So it’s good to sell more — because I’m still not bad at designing clothes, no?”

The legendary designer recently signed a deal for his top women’s collection with Italy’s Gibò SpA – his original partner in the 80s and early 90s – and he admits he was keen to get back to his roots.

”In fashion, it’s about the sensibility of the moment, and I thought it was time to show things which are still good today and can add something extra [to the wardrobe]. But I also wanted to give young women the opportunity to have some of the shapes and pieces I’m most proud of and that are truly me.”

A lot of the items have a Neoprene lining but he insists the material has improved greatly since the 80s.

He said: ”You see, Neoprene is much more sophisticated today than it was then. The pieces I did in ’88 must be damaged by now, but the new generation of Neoprene will last another 50 years, I assure you.

”Luxury sells well, but I always thought it was good to have something more basic that is of value as well.”

Jean Paul Gaultier  says his latest collection feels like a ”new beginning”.

Here is to remember his tallent

Madonna-Wireimage_2236534aparisiennes-collection_les-particules-ec3a3c3a5lec3a3c3a5mentaires-dress

dita-von-teese-haute-couture-for-jean-paul-gaultier-runway-dita-von-teese-13667150-814-1222

 

